27 December Declared a Public Holiday

19 October, 2016 by admin in news

South Africa has 12 official public holidays as determined by the Public Holidays Act (Act No 36 of 1994). The Act provides that

whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be a public holiday.
This year Christmas Day falls on a Sunday.  However, since the 26th of December is already a public holiday South Africans were

essentially going to lose out on a public holiday. 
President Jacob Zuma has now declared that December 27 will be a public holiday.
This was sparked by a request from the Federation of Unions of SA (FEDUSA) on the basis that this year employees in South Africa

would be disadvantaged since they would only have 11 public holidays instead of 12.
Perhaps our President will make an important announcement on the 27th!